Happy Valentine’s day!

It’s Valentine’s day and it’s again a first in Canada. So many firsts 😁

I started feeling the love in college yesterday when I got a gift from a table that was set up by some students. I was told I could pick any wrapped book; a blind date with a book 😍…fun, I love books. I just need to find time to read the one I got. Then I got a bag of chocolates and, once the lady heard I have children, I got two more bags 😁😁😁. Now I can give rewards for weeks on end at no expense.

I then got to another table by the student union and they said I could make free gift boxes to be delivered and I could leave as many messsges as possible…i was like wow, cool. So i made three for the three most precious people in my life (of course my husband and children😁). I got those today, little tiny boxes with notes wrapped in red.

What I find interesting is the amount of handmade and free stuff that exist. It’s really not about how much you spend but about being creative and actually showing and telling the people you love that you do care.

There was another stand set up in college where one could make cards for loved ones. I made a card each for my children. I tried to get them as similar as possible, i don’t know why children always compare their gifts. Do yours do that?

The children came back home with lots of little gifts from school and it really made me feel bad that we didn’t get anything. I’m the mum who usually cares about stuff like that….well, I didn’t really know tje tradition. Back in Nigeria, the children would typically exchange gifts with one person. Next year, we will rectify that (if Jesus has not come, I always say that😁). The little gifts also reinforce that it’s the thought really that counts.

I was a bit grumpy about hubby being away but then, i was too busy to even dwell on that. And our love is everyday 😍…not just on Valentine’s day. I’m secure in that truth.

I ordered take outs for the evening as I didn’t feel like cooking and that ended Valentine’s day. Overall, it was a nice day. Now looking forward to the long weekend.

How did you spend yours? Share with me.

Leave a comment